Delete models

Because there are references of models and the models themselves, there are two options to delete models.

Deletion of a logical relation is done by selecting the Remove Reference item from the context menu over the model reference. It is only active if the item is a reference, which is indicated by the icon, that is, the normal model type specific icon overlaid with a red arrow in the top left corner.

To physically delete a model, select the item Move to Trash from the context menu. The model is moved to the trashcan. From the trashcan it is possible to restore deleted models or permanently remove them from the system. You can also remove models from the Tree View by dragging them to the trashcan. It is also possible to select more than one item for deletion by pressing Ctrl while selecting items with the mouse.

Before deletion of a model component ensure that the deleted model component is not open in a Model Editor window.

Remember, the same model can be instantiated or referenced by more than one model. Deleting a model physically before removing all references to this model in other model libraries can result in library inconsistencies. Such inconsistencies are indicated in the library by a broken icon. It is possible to remove the broken icon using the context menu option Remove Reference.

Deleting a model physically can lead to inconsistencies if other models contain instances of the deleted model. If you open a model containing instances of models that no longer exist, an error messages is displayed and the model cannot be opened.

After deletion of a model it is sometimes necessary to update the affected branch in the Tree View. Right-click on the topmost item in the corresponding branch and select Refresh.